Engineering Excellence Awards

The American Council of Engineering Companies of Iowa (ACEC/Iowa) Engineering Excellence Awards competition recognizes engineering firms for projects that demonstrate an exceptional degree of innovation, complexity, achievement, and value.  A distinguished panel of 3 judges possessing a vast array of built environment and technical expertise will evaluate and rank the submissions.  The panel will select the top award winners.  Projects from across the state of Iowa are rated on the basis of the following:

  • Uniqueness &/or Innovative Application of New or Existing Techniques: 20%
  • Future Value to the Engineering Profession & Perception by the Public: 20%
  • Social, Economic, and Sustainable Development Considerations: 20%
  • Complexity: 20%
  • Successful Fulfillment of Client/Owner Needs: 20%

The American Council of Engineering Companies of Iowa (ACEC/Iowa) will be presenting 2023 Engineering Excellence Awards to engineering firms and their clients at the Iowa Engineering Conference.

Call to Excellence

The overall goal of the Engineering Excellence Awards program is to recognize outstanding engineering achievements in Iowa, and to provide an opportunity for recognition for engineering firms, their employees and their clients.

Entries compete in the categories of Transportation, Water & Wastewater, Buildings & Systems, Special Projects and Energy Production. Projects may have been executed anywhere in the world. The entering firm must have an office in Iowa, but does not have to be a member of ACEC/Iowa.

2023 ACEC/Iowa Engineering Excellence Awards Competition

New Format is coming for 2023.  More information will be available in late Summer, 2022.


Awards to be Presented 

If sufficient entries are received, the following awards will be presented: 1. A single Grand Conceptor Award will be presented to the one project that stands out above all the other entries, regardless of project category. 2. A Grand Place Award will be presented to at least one project in all five categories. 3. An Honor Award will be presented to at least one project in all five categories. 

Both the consulting engineering firm and their owner/client will receive awards. Plaques for the Grand Conceptor Award, Grand Place Awards and Honor Awards will be presented at the ACEC/Iowa Awards Banquet.  

Firms may purchase additional plaques for themselves or their clients by contacting the ACEC/Iowa office. Additional award certificates may also be obtained.


Notification of Winners 

All award winners will be notified in December, 2022. Winners will be given the opportunity to invite their employees and clients to attend the Awards Banquet that will be held at the American Council of Engineering Companies of Iowa’s annual meeting. Banquet RSVP forms are sent along with the awards notifications.

Note: Firms are responsible for inviting client representatives to the Banquet, and for paying their meal costs. The Iowa Ethics and Campaign Disclosure Board has advised ACEC/Iowa this type expenditure is allowed under Iowa law for public officials attending an award ceremony. Public officials attending the award ceremony will be given an opportunity to comment on the project.